October 25, 2011

2011 Dana Point Harbor Championships

2011 Dana Point Harbor Championships were held this past weekend.  The battle for the Howard Trueba Memorial Trophy was won over 5 races by Jason Adamson's Olson 30 White Lightning.  Jason and his crew beat out the likes of a J-125, Melges 32, Henderson 30's and a plethora of other highly competitive boats.

Saturday consisted of four windward/leeward races that started out in foggy light air conditions, perfect for the lighter sport-boats.  Howard Lewis' Melges 32 Pendragon took the first race with Biff Bunny's Henderson 30 Powerpoint close by in second.  Jason Adamson started his consistent weekend of sailing with a third place finish in the difficult and shifty conditions.  Race two saw the wind settle and increase to a pleasurable 7-9kts.  Once again White Lightning showed their good form and won race two with consistent boat speed and good tactics.  Moving up the fleet was brian Doughery and his J-105 Legacy.  Team Legacy pulled a third place finish and quickly showed the fleet that they were there to compete.  Race 3 & 4 saw increasing wind velocity and some boats started switching to smaller headsails.  At one point a 18kt puff rolled through the course much to the delight of the larger heavier boats.

Sunday's random leg race was looking like a long drifter as the boats floundered around the committee boat waiting for the wind to do something.  It eventually filled in and the Race Committee picked a good course and sent the boats on their way.  The first mark rounded was jam packed with most of the boats arriving at the same time.  Legacy was looking strong and sailed a consistent race from the outset to finish the regatta with a victory and sew up a second overall as their nearest competitor Sedona were uncharacteristically positioned towards the back of the fleet.  White Lightning once again showed their dominance with a great performance to get second in the race and essentially first overall.

Both White Lightning and Legacy are powered 100% by Ullman Sails.

Click here for full results!

Special thanks to Barry Senescue and his team on the Race Committee boat for their hard work in running a perfect regatta.